The Kalinga Prize was established in 1951 by UNESCO with a generous grant from Late Shri Biju Patnaik, Founder President of the Kalinga Foundation Trust. First awarded in 1952, the Kalinga Prize is presented annually by UNESCO to a person or persons, who have made outstanding contribution to the interpretation of science and technology to the general public. The Director General of UNESCO selects the prize winner out of nomination received from Members States on the recommendation of a Four Member International jury. The Kalinga Prize is regarded as a prestigious international recognition for outstanding science popularisation work. It has so far been awarded to 63 brilliant promoters of science & technology since its inception. Some of the great scientists/personalities who have been awarded Kalinga Prize are Louis de Brogile (1952), Julian Huxley (1953), George Gamow (1956), Bertrand Russel (1957), Karl von Frisch (1958), Arthur C. Clarke (1961), Fred Hoyle (1967) and Sergei Kapitza (1979).

The purpose of the prize is to reward the efforts of a person who has had a distinguished career as writer, editor, lecturer, radio/television programme director or film producer, which has enabled him/her to help to interpret science, research and technology to the public. He/she is expected to have knowledge of the role of science, technology and general research in the improvement of public welfare.

The Statutes of the UNESCO Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science (NEW)
Article 1
Article 2
Designation, amount and periodicity of the Prize
Article 3
Conditions/Qualifications of candidates
Article 4
Designation/Selection of prize-winner
Article 5
Article 6
Nomination of candidates
Article 7
Procedure for the awarding of the Prize
Article 8
Sunset clause-mandatory renewal of the Prize
Article 9
Article 10
Amendments to the Statutes of the Prize

© 2009 Kalinga Foundation Trust.
Website Designed by AABSyS IT & Powered by Web-CMS